The Passion of the Explorer

Standard

20140423-172133.jpg
I have just been liberated. For so many years I have been asked by everyone what it is that I am passionate about, what drives me. And for so many years the only thing I could answer was passion itself. When I see something and get this little fire burning inside me, I have a gut feel and I know I want to know more, do more and learn more about it. But these things have always been so diversified and unrelated – how can I be passionate about them all?

Today whilst sitting in a coffee shop (as I tend to do) and contemplating what the next step in my life will be, I was met with the usual questions I ask myself; is all structured work mundane? Should work be a 9-5 means to an end? Can one put bread on their table by following their passion? Can one mix passion and profession? Questions to which I do not have the answers, but I have learnt that the best answer really is a well asked question. Through the reference of a like-minded friend Francois Malherbe, I was lead to a video aptly named The Passion of the Explorer. Though much of what I heard resonated with conversations and talks I have seen before, I was strangely struck by a realization that what I am most passionate about is that which I do not know. Much like an explorer of any sorts, my passion lies in understanding and discovering the unknown. I am passionate about exploration itself. So while I could sit and list areas I love such as Education, Entrepreneurship and Innovation, Finance and Business, what I am truly passionate about is continued learning and exploration.

I want to be an adventurer, not only of the oceans and mountains, but of life and the search of its meaning. I want to be vulnerable and I want to love so that I can experience all that others have to share with me and take from me. I want to look at life through the eyes of a child and cherish all the moments of beauty and miracles that would otherwise pass me by. And I want my reincarnation to be the continuation of my dreams by others.

Many of us need to free ourselves from the limitations which we perceive to have been placed upon us as a result of our individual situations. That liberation, that freedom, needs to happen right now.

Leave a comment